In a Better World // Digital Storytelling

Storytelling is something that has existed for generations. The stories of the Greek Gods and Goddesses are still taught in school today, along with many Indigenous peoples’ stories. Today many people use the internet to share their story through blogs, Facebook, Instagram, and other social medias. When we first talked about digital storytelling in my online class, I kept thinking of Humans of New York, which is another way of sharing your story through the internet. Along with giving someone a voice, digital storytelling can also go hand in hand with learning; whether it’s demonstrating your learning through a story, or creating your own story for an English class.

As an introduction to digital storytelling, I had to create my own story using Five Card Flickr. I was given five random pictures that I then had to create a story about. Here it is:


Five Card Story: In a Better World

a Five Card Flickr story created by Alex Taylor


flickr photo by Intrepidteacher


flickr photo by Serenae


flickr photo by bionicteaching


flickr photo by bionicteaching


flickr photo by bionicteaching

Every Sunday I take my normal seat in the fourth pew just off to the left in front of the choir, and I pray. This is my safe haven, where I go to reflect and also to escape. As the choir sings its final hymn I put my coat on leave. As I leave the church, there is some sort of protest happening. More people unhappy with the government I suppose. I walk past them with no desire to learn more about their cause and head to what has been my home for about two weeks now. The last ally I was taking residence in was raided and trashed by the police, so I had to relocate. I try to fall asleep to avoid the growing ache for food in my stomach. I dream about water, and how long it’s been since I have been able to take a hot bath. I suddenly wake up to yelling. It’s another raid. The city police doing their diligent duty of cleaning up the streets I suppose. I grab the few possessions I have managed to keep and walk back to the church. The lock on the door tells me they have already closed it for the day. With nothing else to distract me, I decide to grab a donut and coffee with the little money I have. As I sip on my coffee I can’t help but to think of a better world.


Leave a Reply

