Youtube in the Classroom: Parent Vs. Teacher

Parent (Alex): I do not want you using YouTube videos in the classroom or assigning them to watch at home as homework.

Teacher (Noah): This is a free teaching tool for me to use. Also, assigning the lecture videos as homework gives them more to time to work on projects and assignments in class where I can give them direct help. Also, if I record my in-class lessons and post them to youtube, students that miss can go onto Youtube and watch the lesson they missed. Look at what this math teacher, Ellen Thompson, has done with her Youtube channel. Some teachers call this Flipping the Classroom

Parent (Alex): Okay, but before watching Youtube videos there are irrelevant ads, and after I watch a video Youtube gives me suggestions that are sometimes inappropriate.

Teacher (Noah): There are free extensions for your browser such as Adblock that I have set up so when I show a video in class there are no advertisements, and I can show the students how to do this on their own computers. Additionally, the videos I post to my own channel have a setting turned on that does not allow ads to play before them. I do understand that there is not much control over the suggestions setting but for the most part suggestions are based on the history and content of previously watched videos, so if your child is only watching my videos only relevant content should show up. You can also clear your Youtube history and this will reset suggestions.

Parent (Alex): And what about the students that don’t have access to a tablet, computer, or the internet?

Teacher (Noah): I give the students an option to use my computer in their spare time or at recess to watch the videos and there are many locations such as libraries, coffee shops, and restaurants that students can go to for free computer and internet access

Parent (Alex): How do you know all the videos you share that aren’t your own are credible, because anyone can post a video to Youtube?

Teacher (Noah): I watch all the videos I share with my students beforehand and I look at the channel the video comes from before to check how many subscribers they have. I also check the comments people have posted about the video and how many views the video has

Parent (Alex): I’m concerned about online bullying, and the comment section on Youtube can be a great starting point for bullying. What are your comments on this issue?
Teacher (Noah): In advanced settings on Youtube, you can select an option to approve all the comments on your videos, so I have to approve the comment for it to be seen by anyone and no inappropriate comments will be tolerated. The comment section will actually be very useful because instead of emailing me, students can ask questions by commenting so not only I can answer other students can also answer questions

Parent (Alex): So you are telling me that Youtube is not only free for you to use but it also opens up the classroom for more one-to-one help on assignments, and you will post your lessons for students miss? And you are sure that there will be no issues with bullying or issues for students that don’t have their own access?

Teacher (Noah): Yes that is exactly what I am telling you and yes I am sure

 

Leave a Reply

